Thermally conductive plastic – How PlastFormance technology can replace existing metal products

A thermally conductive plastic is abrasive, expensive and difficult to process?

 

The solution to these challenges lies in the appropriate technology!

 

Here we show, how a state-of-the-art thermally conductive plastic with electrical insulation provides the ideal combination of performance, injection moldability and system cost.

 

Thermally conductive plastic and its applications

The general trend in electronics is the miniaturization of electronic components and assemblies with even higher computing power at the same time. The power density is increasing, which means that heat generation in the component becomes the limiting factor for service life. As a result of the increased heat generation, thermal management is an increasingly important issue for the designer of assemblies, which require cooling. A thermally conductive plastic only makes sense if the assembly can be cooled efficiently.

 

Generally, current state-of-the-art heat sinks are still largely made of metals, such as aluminum. The disadvantage is the lack of insulating properties. This requires the use of interface materials for electrical insulation, which are expensive and have a poor thermal conduction.

 

A thermally conductive plastic with electrical insulation capabilities at the same time, can significantly reduce system complexity. By selecting suitable fillers, thermal conductivity and electrical insulation can be combined in one material. Thus, most of the components (e.g. of a heat sink) can be integrated in a single assembly. The innovation in the PlastFormance technology consists in the realization of extreme filling degrees in the thermally conductive plastic, while at the same time maintaining the injection moldability. The selected isometric particle morphology enables thermal conductivity in all spatial directions.

 
heatsink

Material requirements for heat sink components

The main task of a heat sink is to dissipate heat from heat-producing components. For this purpose, the heat flux from the emitter must first reach the heat sink via the entire heat guide path. Both the internal thermal resistance and the heat transfer resistances are adding up in the process. The dissipated heat is finally released through convection to the ambient air. A higher temperature difference between the heat sink and the discharge medium (air, water) is resulting in more efficient heat dissipation.

Consequently, the internal thermal resistance, the heat transfer resistance and the total number of required intermediate layers have a crucial role in the entire assembly. However, component geometry and orientation are also non-negligible parameters in the efficiency of heat sinks.

 

Thermal conduction in electronic assemblies

Optimal heat dissipation can be achieved, among other things, by minimizing the components of the heat sink. Each component has a specific thermal resistance, which influences the overall heat conduction path (see Figure 1).

Thermal Interface Materials (TIMs) also affect heat dissipation in a counterproductive way. As electrical insulators, they usually have very low thermal conductivity and form the “eye of the needle” in the heat conduction path.
heat conduction path of an LED heatsink

Figure 1: Schematic representation of the heat conduction path of an LED heatsink

(based on [1])

The total thermal path is composed of all added thermal resistances as follows. [1]
heat conduction path as a sum of all thermal resistances

Currently used materials

 
Due to its low density and high heat capacity, mainly aluminum finds its application in today's heat sinks. Although copper has a higher thermal conductivity, aluminum is used because of its simpler and cheaper production compared to copper.
thermal conductive plastic

Figure 2: PlastFormance heatsink

The heat sinks are usually manufactured by extrusion or aluminum die casting. Both processes have restrictions on the design freedom of the components. While only linear geometries can be realized in the extrusion process, undercuts of the cast parts in aluminum die casting must be dispensed with. The necessary molded parts for aluminum die casting are expensive and require a lavish production. Usually, additional surface treatment is necessary to prevent corrosion. Post-processing methods, such as machining, brazing or welding, also make the entire component production more expensive. [2]
Despite its disadvantages, this production chain is established in the industry. However, less well-known, optimized materials and manufacturing processes already exist. A thermally conductive plastic can already compete with aluminum, through suitable filler selection. Due to simplified production cycles, the combination of electrically insulating properties and thermal conductivity, as well as increased design freedom in component construction, a thermally conductive plastic represents a suitable alternative to aluminum (see Figure 2).
 
thermal conductive plastic

Thermally conductive plastic as heat dissipation material

A thermally conductive plastic compound combines the properties of the filler with those of the used polymer. A wide variety of materials, such as ceramics or metals, are suitable as fillers. The properties of the filler, for example excellent thermal conductivity, are transferred to the resulting compound. Thus, a plastic can be produced, that is e.g. electrically insulating and thermally conductive.

PlastFormance technology in thermally conductive plastic

 
With increasing filling level, the character of the filler in the compound increases. The problem with conventional compounds is, that processability in injection molding also decreases at the same time.
processability in injection molding with increased filler concentration

Figure 3: Processability in injection molding with increased filler concentration (based on [3])

Here, PlastFormance technology sets new standards. This is because PlastFormance compounds can contain a filler concentration of up to 80% by volume (see Fig. 3) and are still producible by injection molding. This production method allows greater freedom of design, than conventional processes for manufacturing aluminum heat sinks.
uniform heat dissipation

Figure 4: Uniform heat dissipation through powdered fillers

Another advantage is the homogeneous distribution of isotropic fillers. Platelet-shaped fillers, such as hexagonal boron nitride (hBN), arrange themselves in the direction of flow, resulting in anisotropic heat dissipation (see Figure 4). A thermally conductive plastic from PlastFormance guarantees uniform heat dissipation due to its spherical filler morphologies.
 

Unification of individual component parts

Conventional heat sinks consist of several components to ensure isolation of the aluminum component from the electronic product. A thermally conductive plastic for example, makes it possible to refrain from thermal interface materials (TIMs).
integration of individual components

Figure 5: Integration of individual components using PlastFormance technology

The combination of thermally conductive and electrically insulating properties allow the attaching of LED chips including their conductor tracks, directly to the injection-molded compound (Figure 5).

Why thermal conductivity like aluminum is not needed

 
Typical aluminum alloys for heat sinks achieve thermal conductivities of about 140 W/mK. While unfilled plastics have thermal conductivities of 0.2 W/mK, a thermally conductive plastic from PlastFormance is in the range between 3 and 15 W/mK.
comparison of the thermal conductivity of several products

Figure 6: Contact temperature as a function of the heat sink thermal conductivity (based on [1])

This circumstance may seem technologically disadvantageous, but from a thermal conductivity of about 10 W/mK, only small temperature reductions can be observed (cf. [1], see Figure 6).
 

On the one hand, this is because heat sink geometry and convection are not enough, to dissipate the heat efficiently. On the other hand, the electrically insulating thermal interface materials (TIM) with their very low thermal conductivities (0.5 - 1.5 W/mK) are also a limiting factor.

Conclusion

 
The current use of aluminum as a material for heat sinks does not exploit the full potential in terms of thermal management of electronic components. A thermally conductive plastic based on PlastFormance technology, offers numerous advantages, which are resulting in increased heat dissipation efficiency. These include:
  • Combination of electrical insulation and thermal conductivity in one material
  • High freedom of design, due to injection molding processing
  • Integration of different components in one device
  • Simplification in manufacturing, due to elimination of post-processing procedures
  • Cost savings in the overall system
  • Corrosion-free

References

[1] Heinle, C.: „Simulationsgestützte Entwicklung von Bauteilen aus wärmeleitenden Kunststoffen“; TU Erlangen-Nürnberg (2012)

[2] Dietrich, J.: „Praxis der Umformtechnik“; Springer Verlag (2018)

[3] Griesinger, A.: „
Wärmemanagement in der Elektronik: Theorie und Praxis“; Springer Verlag (2019)
K_1.png

Wärmeleitfähiger Kunststoff – Wie innovative PlastFormance-Technologie Metall ersetzen kann

Der Mythos: Ein wärmeleitfähiger Kunststoff ist abrasiv, teuer und schwer zu verarbeiten?

 

Die Lösung dieser Herausforderungen liegt in der richtigen Technologie!

 

In diesem Artikel können Sie herausfinden, wie modernste Wärmeleitkunststoffe mit elektrischer Isolierung die ideale Kombination aus Leistungsfähigkeit, Spritzgussfähigkeit und Systemkosten liefern.

 

Wärmeleitfähiger Kunststoff und seine Einsatzgebiete

Der allgemeine Trend in der Elektronik ist die Miniaturisierung von elektronischen Komponenten und Baugruppen, bei immer höheren Rechenleistungen. Die Leistungsdichte steigt, wodurch die Wärmeentwicklung im Bauteil zum limitierenden Faktor für die Lebensdauer wird. Die erhöhte Hitzeentwicklung hat zur Folge, dass Thermomanagement ein immer wichtigeres Thema für den Konstrukteur von zu kühlenden Baugruppen wird. Ein wärmeleitfähiger Kunststoff bietet sich nur an, wenn die Baugruppe effizient entwärmt werden kann.

In der Regel werden Kühlkörper nach heutigem Stand immer noch weitestgehend aus Metallen, wie beispielsweise Aluminium hergestellt. Der Nachteil besteht in der fehlenden isolierenden Eigenschaft, was den Einsatz von teuren, schlecht wärmeleitfähigen Interface-Materialien zur elektrischen Isolierung erfordert.

Ein wärmeleitfähiger Kunststoff mit gleichzeitiger elektrischer Isolierung kann die Systemkomplexität deutlich reduzieren. Durch die Auswahl geeigneter Füllstoffe können Wärmeleitfähigkeit und elektrische Isolierung in einem thermische leitenden Kunststoff vereinigt werden. Somit können eine Mehrzahl der Komponenten, zum Beispiel eines Kühlkörpers, in ein Bauteil integriert werden. Die Innovation in der PlastFormance Technologie besteht in der Realisierung extremer Füllgrade im wärmleitfähigen Kunststoff, bei gleichzeitigem Erhalt der Spritzgussfähigkeit. Die ausgewählte, isometrische Partikelmorphologie ermöglicht eine Wärmeleitfähigkeit in alle Raumrichtungen.
 
Kühlkörper

Materialanforderungen an Kühlkörperbauteile

Hauptaufgabe eines Kühlkörpers ist die Wärmeabfuhr von wärmeproduzierenden Bauteilen. Hierzu muss zunächst der Wärmestrom vom Emittenten über den gesamten Wärmeleitpfad zum Kühlkörper gelangen. Sowohl der innere thermische Widerstand, als auch die Wärmeübergangswiderstände addieren sich dabei auf. Durch die Konvektion wird die abgeleitete Wärme schließlich an die Umgebungsluft abgegeben. Hierbei bedeutet eine größere Temperaturdifferenz zwischen Kühlkörper und Abgabemedium (Luft, Wasser) eine effizientere Entwärmung.

Der innere thermische Widerstand, der Wärmeübergangswiderstand und die Gesamtzahl der benötigten Zwischenschichten haben folglich eine entscheidende Rolle bei der gesamten Baugruppe. Doch auch Bauteilgeometrie und -ausrichtung sind nicht zu vernachlässigende Parameter bei der Effizienz von Kühlkörpern.

 

Wärmeleitung in elektronischen Baugruppen

Die optimale Wärmeabfuhr ist unter anderem durch eine Minimierung der Komponenten des Kühlkörpers zu erreichen. Jedes Bauteil besitzt einen spezifischen Wärmewiderstand, wodurch der Gesamtwärmeleitpfad beeinflusst wird (siehe Abbildung 1).

Auch Thermal Interface Materialien (TIMs) beeinflussen in kontraproduktiver Weise die Wärmeableitung. Als elektrischer Isolator, besitzen sie meist eine sehr geringe Wärmeleitfähigkeit und bilden das Nadelöhr im Wärmeleitpfad.
Wärmeleitpfad im LED-Kühlkörper

Abbildung 1: Schematische Darstellung des Wärmeleitpfades eines LED-Kühlkörpers

(in Anlehnung an [1])

Der gesamte Wärmleitpfad setzt sich wie folgt aus allen addierten Wärmewiderständen zusammen. [1]
Wärmeleitpfad aus addierten Wärmewiderständen

Gegenwärtig verwendete Materialien

 
Aufgrund der geringen Dichte und hohen Wärmekapazität findet hauptsächlich Aluminium in heutigen Kühlkörpern seine Anwendung. Obwohl Kupfer eine höhere Wärmeleitfähigkeit hat, wird Aluminium wegen seiner einfacheren und günstigeren Produktion im Vergleich zu Kupfer verwendet.
Wärmeleitfähiger Kunststoff

Abbildung 2: PlastFormance Kühlkörper

Die Kühlkörper werden meist im Strangpressverfahren oder mittels Aluminium-Druckguss gefertigt. Bei beiden Verfahren existieren Einschränkungen in der Designfreiheit der Bauteile. Während im Strangpressverfahren nur lineare Geometrien realisierbar sind, muss beim Aluminium-Druckguss auf Hinterschneidungen der Gussteile verzichtet werden. Die notwendigen Formteile für den Alu-Druckguss sind teuer und aufwendig in der Produktion. Um Korrosion zu vermeiden ist meist eine zusätzliche Oberflächenbehandlung notwendig. Auch Nachbearbeitungsverfahren, wie Zerspanen, Hartlöten oder Schweißen machen die gesamte Bauteilproduktion aufwendiger. [2]
Auch wenn die Produktionskette trotz ihrer Nachteile in der Industrie etabliert ist, existieren bereits weniger bekannte optimierte Materialien und Herstellungsverfahren. Ein wärmeleitfähiger Kunststoff kann durch geeignete Füllstoffauswahl bereits mit Aluminium konkurrieren. Durch vereinfachte Produktionszyklen, der Kombination von elektrisch isolierenden Eigenschaften und Wärmeleitfähigkeit, sowie erhöhter Designfreiheit bei der Bauteilkonstruktion stellt ein wärmeleitfähiger Kunststoff eine geeignete Alternative zu Aluminium dar (siehe Abbildung 2).
 
Wärmeleitfähiger Kunststoff

Wärmeleitfähiger Kunststoff als Wärmeabfuhrmaterial

Ein wärmeleitfähiger Kunststoff-Compound vereinigt die Eigenschaften des Füllstoffes mit denen des verwendeten Kunststoffes. Als Füllstoff eignen sich dabei verschiedenste Materialien, wie zum Beispiel Keramiken oder Metalle. Die Eigenschaften des Füllstoffes, zum Beispiel eine hervorragende Wärmeleitfähigkeit, wird dem entstehenden thermisch leitenden Kunststoff „vererbt“. So kann zum Beispiel ein gleichzeitig elektrisch isolierender und wärmeleitfähiger Kunststoff hergestellt werden.

PlastFormance Technologie in Wärmeleitfähigen Kunststoffen

 
Mit zunehmendem Füllstoffgehalt steigt der Füllstoffcharakter des Compounds. Das Problem bei konventionellen Compounds ist, dass gleichzeitig auch die Verarbeitbarkeit im Spritzguss abnimmt.
Hohe Füllstoffkonzentration

Abbildung 3: Verarbeitbarkeit im Spritzguss bei erhöhter Füllstoffkonzentration (in Anlehnung an [3])

Hierbei setzt die PlastFormance Technologie neue Maßstäbe. Denn PlastFormance-Compounds können eine Füllstoffkonzentration von bis zu 80% vol. enthalten (siehe Abbildung 3) und sind trotzdem im Spritzguss herstellbar. Diese Produktionsmethode erlaubt eine größere Designfreiheit als konventionelle Verfahren zur Herstellung von Aluminium-Kühlkörpern.
Integrale Wärmeleitfähigkeit

Abbildung 4: Gleichmäßige Wärmeabfuhr durch pulverförmige Füllstoffe

Ein weiterer Vorteil besteht in der homogenen Verteilung von isotropen Füllstoffen. Plättchenförmige Füllstoffe, wie zum Beispiel hexagonales Bornitrid (hBN) ordnen sich in Fließrichtung an, was eine anisotrope Wärmeabfuhr zur Folge hat (siehe Abbildung 4). Ein wärmleitfähiger Kunststoff von PlastFormance garantiert eine gleichmäßige Wärmeabfuhr durch die sphärischen Füllstoffmorphologien im Material.
 

Vereinigung einzelner Bauteilkomponenten

Konventionelle Kühlkörper bestehen aus mehreren Komponenten, um eine Isolierung des Aluminium-Bauteiles vom elektronischen Produkt zu gewährleisten. Ein wärmeleitfähiger Kunststoff ermöglicht beispielsweise den Verzicht von Thermal Interface Materials (TIMs).
Integration von Bauteilen

Abbildung 5: Integration einzelner Komponenten durch PlastFormance Technologie

Durch die Kombination von wärmeleitenden und elektrisch isolierenden Eigenschaften ist es möglich, LED-Chips inklusive ihrer Leiterbahnen direkt auf den im Spritzguss hergestellten thermisch leitenden Kunststoff anzubringen (Abbildung 5).

Warum keine Wärmeleitfähigkeit wie Aluminium benötigt wird

 
Typische Aluminiumlegierungen für Kühlkörper erreichen Wärmeleitfähigkeiten von ca. 140 W/mK. Während ungefüllte Kunststoffe Wärmleitfähigkeiten von 0,2 W/mK aufweisen, liegt ein wärmeleitfähiger Kunststoff von PlastFormance im Bereich zwischen 3 und 15 W/mK.
Wärmeleitfähigkeit von PlastFormance-Kunststoffen im Vergleich

Abbildung 6: Verlauf der Kontakttemperatur in Abhängigkeit von der Kühlkörperwärmeleitfähigkeit (in Anlehnung an [1])

Dieser Umstand mag technologisch nachteilig wirken, jedoch sind ab einer Wärmeleitfähigkeit von ungefähr 10 W/mK nur noch geringe Temperaturverringerungen zu beobachten (vgl. [1], siehe Abbildung 6).

Das liegt einerseits daran, dass Kühlkörpergeometrie und Konvektion nicht ausreichen, um die Wärme effizient abzuführen. Andererseits stellen die elektrisch isolierenden Thermal Interface Materialien (TIM) mit ihren sehr geringen Wärmeleitfähigkeiten (0,5 – 1,5 W/mK) ebenfalls einen begrenzenden Faktor dar.

Fazit

 
Die gegenwärtige Nutzung von Aluminium als Material für Kühlkörper schöpft nicht das volle Potential in Bezug auf das Thermomanagement von elektronischen Bauteilen aus. Ein wärmeleitfähiger Kunststoff auf Basis der PlastFormance Technologie bietet eine Reihe von Vorteilen, die eine gesteigerte Effizienz in der Wärmeabfuhr bedeuten. Diese sind unter anderem:
  • Kombination von elektrischer Isolierung und Wärmeleitfähigkeit in einem Material
  • Hohe Designfreiheit, durch Verarbeitung im Spritzguss
  • Integration verschiedener Komponenten in einem Bauteil
  • Vereinfachung im Herstellungsprozess, durch Wegfall von Nachbearbeitungsverfahren
  • Kosteneinsparung im Gesamtsystem
  • Frei von Korrosion

Literatur

[1] Heinle, C.: „Simulationsgestützte Entwicklung von Bauteilen aus wärmeleitenden Kunststoffen“; TU Erlangen-Nürnberg (2012)

[2] Dietrich, J.: „Praxis der Umformtechnik“; Springer Verlag (2018)

[3] Griesinger, A.: „
Wärmemanagement in der Elektronik: Theorie und Praxis“; Springer Verlag (2019)
K_1.png